The Department of Physics at IIT Patna was established and started its activity in August 2008 to train undergraduate engineering students. In July 2009, the department initiated Ph. D. program in various frontier fields of Physics. M. Tech program in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology had been running in the department from July 2012 till July 2019. The department is offering 2 year M. Sc. program in Physics from July 2016 and 4 year B. Tech in Engineering Physics from July 2021.

The department is committed to engaging in high-quality research and pursuit of excellence in teaching. The faculty members of the department are actively involved in research and development in challenging areas of both theory and experiment. Currently, the main research emphasis of the department comprises Condensed Matter Physics, Quantum Physics, Optics, Biophysics, Atomic & Molecular Physics, and High-energy physics.

Latest News / Updates

Chief Guest of the event: Prof. Sourav Pal, Director, IISER Kolkata.

Guest of honor: Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya, Director, IIT Patna